$2.8M to enhance road safety around Brisbane schools

Lord Mayor Graham Quirk is investing $1.3 million to improve school zone safety in his 2015-16 Budget, with a further $1.5 million over the following three years.

Cr Quirk said that Council would work progressively with each of Brisbane’s 300 schools to create specialised Traffic Management Plans, to reduce dangerous and illegal parking and manage traffic flow during school pick-up and drop-off times.

“Where schools establish a traffic and parking management plan and additional safety measures are needed to reduce queuing and congestion, Council will also install new high-visibility drop-and-go zone signage or line markings,” he said.

“This $630,000 investment in the 2015-16 Budget is about keeping kids safe and about having traffic flowing efficiently during these peak periods so parents are not queuing dangerously and blocking traffic in surrounding streets.”

Cr Quirk said that he was also allocating $700,000 in the Budget to install Enhanced School Zone Signage at 25 schools with frontages on some of the busiest multi-lane roads in Brisbane, with another $500,000 annually over the following three years to roll out the signage at another 40 schools.

“Students who attend schools on busy roads have the right to feel safe when they go to and from their school each day, which is why I’m committing to help improve safety for students at 25 schools that are situated on some of the busiest multi-lane roads in Brisbane,” he said.

“Speed signs with flashing red and yellow lights will be placed at the commencement of the school zones on 22 different road frontages as well as pavement treatments on the road surface.

“The signs will alert motorists to the reduced speed limit that applies to school zones during peak school times and increase safety for the school communities.”

The 25 schools to receive enhanced school zone signage in 2015-16 are:

  • Brisbane Boys’ College – Moggill Rd
  • Brisbane Girls Grammar School – Gregory Tce
  • Brisbane Grammar School – Gregory Tce
  • Camp Hill State Infants and Primary School – Old Cleveland Rd
  • Clairvaux Mackillop College – Klumpp Rd
  • Coorparoo State School – Cavendish Rd
  • Durack State School – Inala Ave
  • Dutton Park State School – Annerley Rd
  • Forest Lake State High School – Forest Lake Blvd
  • Inala State School – Rosemary St
  • Macgregor State School – McCullough St
  • Moorooka State School – Beaudesert Rd
  • Moreton Bay College – Hargreaves Rd
  • Mount Gravatt East State School – Newnham Rd
  • Sandgate State School – Rainbow St
  • Seton College – Cavendish Rd
  • St Bernard’s Catholic Primary School – Logan Rd and Klumpp Rd
  • St Flannan’s Catholic Primary School – Handford Rd
  • St Johns Anglican College Junior Campus – Forest Lake Blvd
  • St Johns Anglican College Senior Campus – Forest Lake Blvd
  • Tingalpa State School – Wynnum Rd
  • Upper Mount Gravatt State School – Logan Rd
  • Western Suburbs State Special School – Rosemary St
  • Wynnum West State School – Wynnum Rd
  • Zillmere State School – Murphy Rd.

Cr Quirk said ongoing monitoring would take place at these sites once the school zone signage was established.

“We will continue to work closely with all of our school communities to improve safety at Drop ‘n’ Go Zones as well as curb dangerous and illegal parking,” Cr Quirk said.

“Council will also work with the Queensland Police Service to promote better safety school zones.”